Archive | September 30, 2010

Que Tristeza ~ Ecuador

equateur, otavalo, femme quechuas otavalo

Image via Wikipedia

Protesting police throw Ecuador into chaos – USATODAY.com

This headline immediately caught my attention.  As a naïve 20 year-old college student, I spent a semester studying Spanish at a small, private university in Quito.  I adored the country and traveled every opportunity I had.

There are not many places in the world where you can visit rain forest, arid plains, the Galápagos Islands, and the Pacific coast all in one semester.  I went whitewater rafting as well.  That semester offered enough adventure for a lifetime.

My host family was incredibly gracious, and quite frankly, I worry about their health and safety.  Most of the Ecuadorians I met were generous people simply trying to get by.  During my stay in 2001, my host mom (Adrianna) told me firsthand horror stories of the banking collapse in 1999.  At the time, she worked as a bank manager.  I can only hope that most Ecuadorians remain unaffected by the current political upheaval.

I love studying the history and culture of Latin America, but more often than not, it is a history of almost constant suffering.

At Times Like These, I Feel Lucky

Colourful Cornwall

God can work with 1% « RELOADED…

After reading the blog post above, I couldn’t help but fully realize just how truly I lucky I am.  All too often I lose sight of that fact.  As a woman with Turners Syndrome, I could have serious heart and kidney problems.  Fortunately, I do not.

God can work with 1%.  Women and girls with Turner Syndrome somewhere along the line earned a reputation for being stubborn, so I wouldn’t be making any bets against the little girl mentioned in the post above.  Hopefully she will be thriving in no time.

Speaking of stubborn…  Those who know me well know that I am too stubborn for my own good.  If you happen to know my Dad and his Mom, you understand that I come by this trait very honestly.  Personally, I like it that way.

Lindsey