Archive | March 4, 2012

russelllindsey:

I love that she is doing this new series of posts! It sounds like a wonderful book. I’ll have to check it out.

Originally posted on Girl Meets Broadway:

This is the first post in a new series of posts I will be writing. I plan on writing about the books I’ve recently read that have made a lasting impression on me. Like the rest of this blog the books I’ll review will touch on the topics of theatre, Broadway, actors and directors.

View original 236 more words

Charlotte Au Chocolat By Charlotte Silver

In ‘Charlotte,’ Decadent Childhood Memories : NPR

This book sounds so good.  I can almost taste it.

Related articles

Fun With Political Quotes

 

Daniel of St. Thomas Jenifer

Image via Wikipedia

Political Quotes | Ramblings of a Misguided Blonde

~ Political Quotes | Ramblings of a Misguided Blonde

I just finished a page highlighting a few of my favorite political quotes and personalities.  I included the page under the Quotes and My Political Views pages.  Note that both the pages included above are identical.  I simply wanted the same content in two different areas of the blog.  Please take the time to look around.  I’d love some feedback on all of the pages.  Below is just a sample from the new page.

Quotes | Ramblings of a Misguided Blonde

My Political Views | Ramblings of a Misguided Blonde

A place for everything, everything in its place.
Benjamin Franklin

Admiration is the daughter of ignorance.
Benjamin Franklin

Either write something worth reading or do something worth writing.
Benjamin Franklin

It is a grand mistake to think of being great without goodness and I pronounce it as certain that there was never a truly great man that was not at the same time truly virtuous.
Benjamin Franklin

A wise and frugal Government, which shall restrain men from injuring one another, which shall leave them otherwise free to regulate their own pursuits of industry and improvement, and shall not take from the mouth of labor the bread it has earned. This is the sum of good government, and this is necessary to close the circlue of our felicities.
Thomas Jefferson

Books constitute capital. A library book lasts as long as a house, for hundreds of years. It is not, then, an article of mere consumption but fairly of capital, and often in the case of professional men, setting out in life, it is their only capital.
Thomas Jefferson

Firearms are second only to the Constitution in importance; they are the peoples’ liberty’s teeth.
George Washington

Government is not reason; it is not eloquent; it is force. Like fire, it is a dangerous servant and a fearful master.
George Washington

Guard against the impostures of pretended patriotism.
George Washington

Happiness and moral duty are inseparably connected.
George Washington

A friend is one who has the same enemies as you have.
Abraham Lincoln

A house divided against itself cannot stand.  Abraham Lincoln

Am I not destroying my enemies when I make friends of them?  Abraham Lincoln

America will never be destroyed from the outside. If we falter and lose our freedoms, it will be because we destroyed ourselves.
Abraham Lincoln

Ballots are the rightful and peaceful successors to bullets.
Abraham Lincoln

Be sure you put your feet in the right place, then stand firm.
Abraham Lincoln

Books serve to show a man that those original thoughts of his aren’t very new at all.
Abraham Lincoln

Character is like a tree and reputation like a shadow. The shadow is what we think of it; the tree is the real thing.
Abraham Lincoln

Common looking people are the best in the world: that is the reason the Lord makes so many of them.
Abraham Lincoln

Daily Dose – I Needed This

russelllindsey:

150 px

Image via Wikipedia

Isn’t this the premise of The Hunger Games Trilogy?

Originally posted on Trying To Make My Kids Proud:

20120303-095120.jpg

View original

Writing and Nostalgia

WOW! Women On Writing Blog: When Nostalgia Gets in The Way of Your Writing Career

My Mom and I spent most of Saturday working on her children’s books and watching a few great movies (more on them later).  We are at the point where we are getting close to submitting her books.  She is so anxious to submit, which I understand.  I just personally feel the more time we take to polish her books, which are aimed at children aged 3-6, the better chance we will have at publication.

Of course, I love her books.  I adore the world she is creating as she took inspiration from a writing program she used in her kindergarten classroom.  I’m her daughter and way too close to the project.  I just visualize her sitting in front of classrooms of very young children, reading her books, much to their delight.  It amazes me just how many ideas we have for her series.  I love the fact that she has her former principal eager to help her.  He appears truly excited about her ideas and the resulting books.

I’m going to have to share this post with her and somehow try to convince her that we need to start working on supplemental materials for the book.  I’m going to have to take the time to come up with some concrete ideas to share with her.  Online articles, e-zine publication, etc. may just have a place in our series and eventual plans for it.  I just hope they are eventually published, even if it takes several years.  My Mom and I have too many marketing ideas to let this go.

Title page of Peter and Wendy

Image via Wikipedia

russelllindsey:

There are a few movies included here that I will have to check out. Amelie is one of my personal favorites!

Originally posted on Becoming Madame:

This year’s Academy Awards have got me in a cinematic whirl. Since my time zone makes watching the Oscars live a little inconvenient, I taped the show (or whatever the modern technological equivalent of taping is nowadays) so that I could watch the whole night in one long, exhaustively glamorous sequence.

I’m sure we can all agree that one of the major themes honored at the 84th Academy Awards was la France. Not only due to the success of The Artist, director Michel Hazanavicius and Jean Dujardin, but also Scorsese’s Hugo and Allen’s Midnight in Paris. I’d even go so far as to say that Paris was this year’s unabashed leading lady. (Nothing, of course, against the marvelous Meryl Streep or her portrayal of the British leading lady.)

One cannotn however, deny la présence française at the 2012 Oscars. The accordion music in the background, the cafés and 

View original 829 more words