Archive | April 1, 2012

Guest Post: Hypia Sanches

Today I would like to welcome Hypia Sanches to Ramblings of a Misguided Blonde.  I asked her to write a guest and she kindly accepted.  It was the least I could do for such an avid fan.  It is always a pleasure to meet other girls and women with Turner Syndrome.  Thank you Hypia for taking the time to put together this post.  We certainly have a lot in common!

Copyright 2012 Hypia Sanches

Hi!  I’m Hypia, I live in Brazil, I’m 23 years old, and I’m online friends with Lindsey.  When Lindsey asked me if I’d like to write a guest post I almost jumped in front of my computer!!!

I found her blog through her posts about Turner Syndrome (I’ll use simply “TS” in the rest of this post), a genetic condition I also happen to have.  I won’t explain what it is because she already did it.  She mentioned that her posts about TS are among the most popular of her blog, and a few other things I’ll try not to repeat here.

I learned I have TS when I was 12 years old.  Because I was short for my age and not developing physically the same way as my peers, my mom took me to an endocrinologist who discovered what was going on.  Not one doctor I saw as child said one word about my unusual growth rate.  One of the doctor’s I talked to after I knew I had TS told me even health professionals don’t always notice this syndrome when they see a patient who has it.

I started taking daily shots of growth hormone when I was 13, a few months after I was diagnosed, and only stopped when I was 17.  I then began hormone replacement therapy (or just “HRT”) with estrogen to make me go through puberty, which couldn’t happen before, according to the physicians, as it would compromise my growth.  I won’t talk about what it was like to experience many things other teenage girls had been through years after them.  I’ll just say it wasn’t fun.

Now I’m becoming more and more… ok isn’t exactly the word I wanted, but it’s the best I can think of now, about the fact that TS is a part of my life I’ll have to deal with.  I couldn’t even think about googling “turner syndrome” until recently, but I realized that getting information is vital.  That’s how I found out that many things I’ve faced are related to my condition (for example, difficulties learning how to drive, a fairly common issue from what I’ve read)… Others have been there too.  I also learned about many things that could have happened but didn’t.

I can’t begin to describe how happy I was when I learned that there are books with characters who have TS!  Books by other people sharing their experiences with it!

Well… Like Lindsey said, she doesn’t want this blog to be just about TS, so, I’ll share a few things I love.

1.  Reading.

Lindsey has a few posts about books.  I love reading young adult novels, especially with paranormal creatures (vampires, faeries, werewolves, witches, aliens, any kind of non-human beings).

2.  Music.

If I don’t have my iPod with me, it’s like I’m someone else.  I love many kinds of music, especially pop (Madonna, Britney Spears, Katy Perry, Lady Gaga, etc) and rock (Lifehouse, Evanescence, Skillet, POD, Red Hot Chilli Peppers, Linkin Park…).

3.  Converse Shoes.

For me, they have personality! Converses, jeans, and a t-shirt; it’s what I wear most of the time.  I don’t care a lot about fashion trends, but it doesn’t mean I don’t like looking my best!  If I’m going to somewhere like the supermarket, chances are you’ll see me wearing something far from fashionable.

4.  TV Series.

Lost, Smallville, Supernatural, The Big Bang Theory, Chuck, Gilmore Girls, Gossip Girl… You name it.  Love watching them.

5.  Nail Polish.

I’d love to change my hair color to something like blue, pink, green, purple… But, the place where I work at won’t allow me to do so.  Instead I use all the color I want on my nails.  You’ll almost never see me with my nails unpainted.

We are essentially like anyone else, and we have our individual challenges to overcome, just like everyone else.

Everyone is unique.

I’ll end this post with a song I really like, Opheliac, by one of my favorite musicians, Emilie Autumn.

A is for Abbey Road/And In The End

Cover of "Abbey Road (Remastered)"

Cover of Abbey Road (Remastered)Apr

Abbey Road – Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Abbey Road – Crossing Webcam

“Abbey Road” is the 11th studio album released by The Beatles and the last recorded.  While “Let It Be” was released after “Abbey Road,” it was recorded at an earlier date.  The name comes from the famous Abbey Road Studios in London, where most of the Beatles’ albums were recorded.  The album cover, shot by photographer Linda Eastman McCartney, is one of the most iconic and imitated album covers ever produced.  Today the crossing is almost a tourist attraction.  Above is a live to a live webcam of the crossing.  Crazy, right?  In the interview below Paul McCartney talks about recording at Abbey Road.  “And in the End,” of course, is the very last track/medley on “Abbey Road.”

Cover Story Excerpt: Paul McCartney | Music News | Rolling Stone