Archive | April 21, 2012

Memories Of Austin/Random Pictures

While looking for a specific childhood picture for an upcoming post I came across these pictures from my time in Austin.  The picture with my Dad dates from when I arrived home in mid-December 2002.  The very last picture is a funky Halloween pic taken by one of my aunts.  That is me dressed up as the one and only Punky Brewster.  More on her later.  My sister is the cute little clown.

Cheryl and I ~ 2002 ~ Causing trouble - again.

Me and My Dad ~ 2002

And a personal favorite …

Under The Radar Michigan: Episode 210 “I’m All Thumbs”

Bay City, looking East from Veterans Memorial ...

Bay City, looking East from Veterans Memorial Park. Bay City, Michigan at dusk. Bay City, Michigan. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Episode 210

Ok, my adopted hometown of Bay City is highlighted on this recent episode of Under The Radar.  Check it out.  Pretty interesting stuff, especially if you don’t know a whole lot about Michigan.

If I’ve said it once, I’ve said it a thousand times.  Bay City has so much damn potential.  It all comes down to one thing:  JOBS.  Anyway, I’ll get off my soapbox now.  Enjoy the episode!  Oh, and this is pretty sweet too.

My Name Is Lindsey, Not Leslie!

Happier Times ... Mom, Dad, and I ~ Spring 2001

This may be a bit tongue and cheek, but I just had to write about it.  First, I’ll provide a little background.  My name is Lindsey Jenelle Russell.  My Mom’s name is Leslie.  When she named me way back in December 1980, she supposedly didn’t realize just how similar the names Leslie and Lindsey are.  She never really thought about it.  I’ve been living in the shadow every since.

It is important to note that not only did I attend the very same school district K-12 that my Mom did as a child, my Mom also taught in that district the entire time I was a student.  I even ended up with a few teachers that she’d had 24 years earlier, several in fact.  It was understandable that occasionally people in my hometown, so many of whom have known my Mom for decades, would call me Leslie.  It never really bothered me, but nothing could prepare me for what happened next.

When I arrived on campus at Michigan State University in August 1999, I never dreamed the name Leslie would follow me.  How wrong I was!  Even though no one there knew my Mom, I would occasionally get called Leslie by professors, classmates, etc.  When I met Brian’s Dad for the first time, before he even met my Mom or knew her name, he called me Leslie too.  I must look like a Leslie.  I have no way to explain it.  It just keeps happening with people who in no way could know my Mom’s name.  It is pretty funny.  Sometimes I think I should just go with it and answer to Leslie.

Nah, I’m too much my own person.  That is what makes it even funnier.  My Mom and I look nothing alike.  It is my sister and my Mom that look eerily similar.  How my name gets mixed up with my Mother’s I will never know.

O is for Oh! Darling

Publicity photo of the Beatles with producer G...

Publicity photo of the Beatles with producer George Martin in the studio at Abbey Road. Only John Lennon, George Harrison and Paul McCartney are pictured. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Oh! Darling, off of 1969’s Abbey Road is one of my favorite Beatles songs.  Primarily sung and written by Paul McCartney, I’d have to say that I have to agree with John Lennon when he stated that the song was more suited for his (John’s) voice.  Paul ended up with the lead vocals simply because it was primarily his song.  McCartney was not originally happy with his vocals.  He thought they were too clear.  In the end, he tried recording the song each day for a week.  He wanted his vocals to sound as though he’d been singing the song all week long.

Heavily influenced by Louisiana R & B and swamp blues, some in Louisiana thought the song originally recorded by local musicians.  While at first glance the song does appear more suited for John Lennon vocally, Paul McCartney did revisit this type of vocal throughout his solo career – and in the Wings (band) era.

russelllindsey:

A beautiful baseball post! I wish I’d written it.

Originally posted on Tri Fatherhood:

Dear Izzy, Max, and Kate,

I’ve been trying to slow the pace of our life lately. It occurred to me that the deliberately slow approach to the game is what makes me love baseball so much. I enjoy all sports, but there’s something special about baseball that helps me relax. You girls aren’t too excited about my love for baseball, but I’m happy to have a partner now in you, Max. You love to watch “ball”.

Here are 5 reasons we should be okay with living our  life like a game of baseball:

1. It’s worth the wait: I think most baseball fans would agree that Albert Pujols is the most feared hitter in the game right now. Pujols career batting average in the majors is .328 and he’s never hit fewer than 32 homeruns in a season during his 11 year career. As of today he has 445…

View original 886 more words